How to Erase Your Phone Before Recycling or Selling

Originally published June 2019 • Updated 2026

Finger pressing factory reset on a cell phone before recycling or donating it.

At Big Sky Recycling, your privacy comes first. As a Certified B Corporation, we follow strict, R2-aligned practices to ensure data on all phones we receive is securely destroyed. Still, we recommend you erase devices before mailing them for recycling or resale. Use the step-by-step guides below to remove accounts and wipe data from your iPhone, iPad, Android, or flip phone.

Choose your device below to get started:

Close-up of an Apple iPhone

iPhone

Close-up of an Apple iPad

iPad

Close-up of an Android smartphone.

Android

Close-up of a flip phone.

Flip Phone

How to Erase an iPhone

Step 1. Turn off Find My iPhone

Find My iPhone is a feature for iPhones that helps locate your device if lost, but can also block activation by a new user. By turning off Find My iPhone, it’s easier for us to erase your data and recycle your iPhone.

On iPhone software iOS 10.2 or earlier

  1. Locate and open the Settings app on your iPhone.
  2. Select iCloud from the settings menu.
  3. Scroll down to “Find My iPhone” and tap the slider to Turn Off.
  4. If prompted, enter your Apple ID password (WiFi may be required).

On iPhone software iOS 18 or earlier

  1. Locate and open the Settings app on your iPhone.
  2. Tap [your name] at the top of the Settings Menu.
  3. Scroll down and tap Find My.
  4. If “Find My iPhone” is on, tap to turn it off (WiFi may be required).

On iPhone software iOS 26 or later

  1. Locate and open the Settings app on your iPhone.
  2. Tap [your name].
  3. Scroll down and tap Sign Out.
  4. Choose Erase this iPhone.
  5. If prompted, enter your Apple ID password (WiFi may be required).

Step 2. Erase all Content and Settings

  1. Locate and open the Settings app on your iPhone.
  2. Find & select General.
  3. Scroll down and tap Reset.
  4. Select Erase All Content & Settings.

How to Erase an iPad

Step 1. Turn off Find My iPhone (iPad)

Find My iPhone is a feature for iPads that helps locate your device if lost, but can also block activation by a new user. By turning off Find My iPhone, it’s easier for us to erase your data and recycle your iPad.

On iPad software iOS 10.2 or earlier

  1. Locate and open the Settings app on your iPhone.
  2. Select iCloud from the settings menu.
  3. Scroll down to “Find My iPhone” and tap the slider to Turn Off.
  4. If prompted, enter your Apple ID password (WiFi may be required).

On iPad software iOS 18 or earlier

  1. Locate and open the Settings app on your iPhone.
  2. Tap [your name] at the top of the Settings Menu.
  3. Scroll down and tap Find My.
  4. If “Find My iPhone” is on, tap to turn it off (WiFi may be required).

On iPad software iOS 26 or later

  1. Locate and open the Settings app on your iPhone.
  2. Tap [your name].
  3. Scroll down and tap Sign Out.
  4. Choose Erase this iPad.
  5. If prompted, enter your Apple ID password (WiFi may be required).

Step 2. Erase all Content and Settings

  1. Locate and open the Settings app on your iPad.
  2. Find & select General.
  3. Scroll down and tap Reset.
  4. Select Erase All Content & Settings.

How to Erase an Android Phone

Step 1. Remove Google and Samsung Accounts 

By first removing these accounts from your device, it makes it easier to erase the data and for us to recycle your cell phone and provide more to charity.

  1. Find and open the device’s Settings app.
  2. Tap Accounts. If you don’t see “Accounts”, tap Users & Accounts.
  3. Tap the Google or Samsung account you want to remove – select Remove Account.
  4. For security, you may be asked to verify the device’s pattern, PIN, or password.

Note: The exact steps and menus may vary depending on your Android phone model and version.

Step 2. Factory Reset 

Note: The exact steps and menus may vary depending on your Android phone model and software version. Most models will follow steps similar to those listed below.

Samsung

  1. Open the Settings app on your Android phone.
  2. Select Backup and Reset. If Backup and Reset is not an option, you may need to first select General Management.
  3. Reset.
  4. Choose Factory Data Reset.
  5. Reset.
  6. Confirm your decision: You will be asked to confirm your decision by selecting Delete All. Make sure you are ready to erase all data on your phone before proceeding.

LG

  1. Open the Settings app on your Android phone.
  2. General
  3. Reset.
  4. Choose Factory Data Reset.
  5. Reset Phone.
  6. Confirm your decision: You will be asked to confirm your decision by selecting Delete All. Make sure you are ready to erase all data on your phone before proceeding.

Motorola

  1. Open the Settings app on your Android phone.
  2. System.
  3. Advanced.
  4. Reset Options.
  5. Erase All Data (Factory Reset).
  6. Reset Phone.
  7. Confirm your decision: You will be asked to confirm your decision by selecting Erase Everything. Make sure you are ready to erase all data on your phone before proceeding.

Other Android Models

  1. Open the Settings app on your Android phone.
  2. System.
  3. Advanced.
  4. Reset.
  5. Erase All Data (Factory Reset).

How to Erase a Flip Phone

Steps to erase flip phones and non-smartphones will vary by make and model. If the steps provided do not match your phone, please feel free to contact us with your phone’s model and we will do our best to provide you with customized instructions.

  1. Menu
  2. Settings
  3. Phone Settings
  4. Security
  5. Enter Security Code (if prompted)
  6. Restore Phone

(the security code typically defaults to the last 4 digits of the phone number, 0000, or 1234).

Frequently Asked Questions

After you erase your device, Big Sky Recycling performs certified data destruction following NIST 800-88 and R2v3-aligned processes. If a device can’t be wiped, it’s physically destroyed so data cannot be recovered.

Yes. We accept locked, disabled, and non-functional phones. Data is destroyed through certified processes or physical destruction, even if the device won’t power on.

Yes. We suggest removing any physical SIM cards when possible. This helps protect your contacts and carrier info.

No. Factory Resetting an old phone will not affect the new one. It will only erase data on the old phone where the reset is done.

Big Sky Recycling: Your Trusted Partner for Secure Device Recycling